"Scream Queens" has been renewed for a second season.

Fox confirmed it in a press release after Fox Television Group Chairmen Gary Newman and Dana Walden announced the news at the Television Critics Association winter press tour Friday.

Season 2 will be set in a hospital, where "some of the most fascinating and bizarre medical cases are under observation." Newman denied the season will bear a resemblance to Season 2 of series creator Ryan Murphy's show "American Horror Story."

"I don't think it's anything like 'Asylum,' which was set in a period," he told reporters. "The medical is an incredibly rich area to tell stories in. Ryan has always loved the medical area. 'Nip/Tuck' was a show he really enjoyed the creative on. It seemed like a great, broad area."

Season 1 starred Emma Roberts, Skyler Samuels, Lea Michele and Abigail Breslin as sorority sisters, with Jamie Lee Curtis as university dean Cathy Munsch. Walden said Murphy "intends to bring some of the actors from the first installment back," possibly as the same characters.

"It really hasn't been decided who's coming back," Newman added. "Our instinct is that at least a few of the characters will be back with the same actors playing the same roles, but it will be anthological in that there will be a time jump and it'll be in a different season."

Michele, who played Hester on "Scream Queens" and previously starred on Murphy's series "Glee," appeared to hint at her return while expressing excitement about the renewal on Twitter.

"OMG I couldn't be happier right now!!!! @ScreamQueens Season 2!!!! This is the best news ever!!!! We're back!! #HereComesHester," she wrote.

Reality TV World is now available on the all-new Google News app and website. Click here to visit our Google News page, and then click FOLLOW to add us as a news source!
"Scream Queens" premiered in September and completed a 13-episode first season Dec. 8. The series won Favorite New TV Comedy at the People's Choice Awards this month, and Curtis is nominated for Best Actress in a Musical or Comedy Series at the Satellite Awards on Feb. 21.