Reality TV World Show Updates   People News   Spoiler News   Entertainment News   RealityTVDB   POP Hollywood   Reality TV News Wire
Features & Interviews   Sexy Social Pics of the Day   Things to Know Profiles   Message Boards   Shows Listing


Francis Ford Coppola to get motion picture academy's Thalberg Award

UPI News Service, 08/25/2010 

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences said Wednesday filmmaker Francis Ford Coppola will receive the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award in Los Angeles.

The award is given to a creative producer whose body of work reflects a consistently high quality of motion picture production.

Coppola's film credits include "The Godfather" trilogy, "Apocalypse Now,""American Graffiti,""Gardens of Stone,""The Black Stallion,""The Outsiders,""Lost in Translation" and "The Good Shepherd."

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences voted Tuesday night to give Coppola the award and announced the decision Wednesday.

Honorary awards are also to be bestowed upon historian and preservationist Kevin Brownlow, director Jean-Luc Godard and actor Eli Wallach.

All four prizes are to be presented at the Academy's 2nd annual Governors Awards dinner Nov. 13 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center.

"Each of these honorees has touched movie audiences worldwide and influenced the motion picture industry through their work," Academy President Tom Sherak said in a statement. "It will be an honor to celebrate their extraordinary achievements and contributions at the Governors Awards."

Get more Reality TV World! Follow us on Twitter, like us on Facebook or add our RSS feed.

Copyright 2010 United Press International, Inc. (UPI). Any repr


Take Our User Survey

Page generated Wed May 23, 2018 20:48 pm in 2.1628060340881 seconds

About Reality TV World   •   Advertise on Reality TV World  •   Contact Reality TV World  •   Privacy Policy   •   RSS Feed