ABC has announced The Taste's third season will premiere with a two-hour episode Thursday, December 4 at 8PM ET/PT.

The Taste will feature the following regular judges doubling as mentors: Chef Anthony Bourdain, British food star Nigella Lawson, expert chef and author Ludo Lefebvre, and chef and restaurateur Marcus Samuelsson.

Chef Stephanie Izard will serve as a guest judge.

After blind auditions, 16 contestants will battle it out to earn a place in the kitchen and eventually be crowned America's Best Undiscovered Cook.

In the third-season premiere dubbed The Taste: Auditions & Childhood, home cooks and professional chefs from across the country will gather in The Taste kitchen and create their most delicious dishes for the judges to taste blindly. At the end of the night, 16 cooks will be given a place on the mentors' teams.

In a surprise twist, one competitor will be sent home immediately after the childhood-inspired challenge.

As The Taste season progresses, team and individual challenges will commence each week with new themes, often resulting in eliminations.

The Taste is produced by Kinetic Content and executive produced by Chris Coelen, Sam Dean, Kathleen Burns, Anthony Bourdain, Nigella Lawson and Brian Smith.

About The Author: Elizabeth Kwiatkowski
Elizabeth Kwiatkowski is Associate Editor of Reality TV World and has been covering the reality TV genre for more than a decade.