NBC has announced that actor and comedian Nick Cannon will replace Jerry Springer as the host of America's Got Talent when the reality talent competition's fourth season airs this summer.

"I'm thrilled to be with working with NBC," said Cannon. "[NBC executives] Ben Silverman and Paul Teledgy understand my vision as not only an entertainer but as a creative show producer. I look forward to working with the network and their executive team on America's Got Talent and other shows to come." 

As part of today's announcement, NBC also confirmed that America's Got Talent judges Sharon Osbourne, Piers Morgan and David Hasselhoff will all return for the show's fourth season.

"Nick exemplifies the spirit of America's Got Talent with his talent, originality and an infectious love of performing and creating," said Telegdy, NBC's recently-hired new reality programming chief. "His popularity and appeal are sure to take the series to a new level of success." 

Last week, Springer announced that he would not be returning for America's Got Talent's fourth season due to his commitment to The Jerry Springer Show and an unidentified stage role.

Springer had served as the host of America's Got Talent's last two seasons after replacing first-season host Regis Philbin, who left the show due to the "heavy travel schedule" he had as he commuted from New York City to Los Angeles where the show taped.

"This is just the first of multiple projects we are looking to do with Nick at NBC," added Silverman, NBC's co-chairman. "He's a true triple threat, a multi-talented producer, actor and musician. We are excited to welcome him to the NBC family."

The 28-year-old Cannon began his career in 1998 at age 16 when he was featured on Nickelodeon's All That before starring in The Nick Cannon Show in 2002. In 2006, he premiered MTV's Nick Cannon Presents Wild'n Out, which became the network's highest rated comedy program for four consecutive seasons.

Cannon also was featured in the 2006 film Bobby, which earned him the Cannes Film Festival's Breakthrough Actor of the Year award.