NBC announced last week that it has added a seventh reality series to its previously announced Summer 2005 programming schedule -- Hit Me Baby One More Time, a one-hour reality competition series in which five one-time pop music stars will perform and compete for the studio audience's vote.

Based on a British series of the same name, Hit Me Baby One More Time will premiere on Thursday, June 2 at 9PM ET/PT and will be hosted by Vernon Kay, who also hosts the original U.K. version of the series.

While NBC is only initially committing to three episodes of the series (which despite its name, shouldn't be confused with Britney Spears' upcoming UPN reality show), the network is expected to order additional episodes should the series prove successful. "[Hit Me Baby One More Time] is expandable to many more episodes, if we wanted to go there, which I think we will once we see it," NBC executive Craig Plestis confirmed to Daily Variety.

During each episode, the five music performers will each perform two songs, one of which will be "their greatest hit" and another that will be a cover of a popular contemporary song. In addition to the performances, Hit Me Baby One More Time will air brief summaries of the performers' backgrounds and updates on their current careers and personal lives.

"This exciting new series will reunite the audience with some of their favorite classic musical performers and groups who will play their hits and then compete against each other in an entertaining battle of the bands," Plestis stated in the network's announcement.

While NBC has yet to announce the identities of any of the show's performers, the show's British edition (still in the middle of its initial season) has featured artists such as Tiffany, Belinda Carlisle, Gloria Gaynor, Howard Jones, and Haddaway.

Produced by Granada America, Hit Me Baby One More Time is executive produced by Paul Jackson (Nanny 911, Hell's Kitchen), Curt Northrup (Celebrity Fit Club, America Princess), Michael Agbabian & Dwight D. Smith (Last Comic Standing, Weakest Link), Daniel Soiseth (Hell's Kitchen, Big Brother 4) and Stewart Morris.