American Idol has reached the end of its run on television.

Fox has officially announced the network is canceling American Idol after its next -- and final -- fifteenth season airs in 2016.

Idol's last season will continue to feature host Ryan Seacrest as well as returning judges Jennifer Lopez, Keith Urban and Harry Connick Jr.

American Idol's fifteenth season will "search for the final Idol superstar and pay tribute to the past 14 seasons of amazingly talented contestants and the millions of fans who tweeted, texted and championed their Idols," according to Fox.

The announcement comes after years of declining ratings and just before Season 14's finale. The finale will air Tuesday and Wednesday night, May 12 and May 13, and feature Nick Fradiani, Jax and Clark Beckham duking it out for the title and recording contract with Big Machine Records.

American Idol first premiered in June 2002 with the series' original judging panel of Simon Cowell, Paula Abdul and Randy Jackson. Additional judges throughout the seasons have also included Kara DioGuardi, Ellen DeGeneres, Steven Tyler, Mariah Carey, and Nicki Minaj.
About The Author: Elizabeth Kwiatkowski
Elizabeth Kwiatkowski is Associate Editor of Reality TV World and has been covering the reality TV genre for more than a decade.