"The One and Only Ivan," written by Katherine Applegate, is the 2013 Newbery Medal winner, the American Library Association announced Monday in Seattle.

Three Newbery Honor Books also were named. They are "Splendors and Glooms" by Laura Amy Schlitz; "Bomb: The Race to Build -- and Steal -- the World's Most Dangerous Weapon" by Steve Sheinkin; and "Three Times Lucky" by Sheila Turnage.

The 2013 Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children went to "This is Not My Hat," illustrated and written by Jon Klassen.

Five Caldecott Honor Books also were named. They are "Creepy Carrots!" illustrated by Peter Brown and written by Aaron Reynolds; "Extra Yarn" illustrated by Jon Klassen and written by Mac Barnett; "Green" illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger; "One Cool Friend" illustrated by David Small and written by Toni Buzzeo; and "Sleep Like a Tiger" illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski and written by Mary Logue.

The Coretta Scott King [Author] Book Award recognizing an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults was presented to "Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America" written by Andrea Davis Pinkney and illustrated by Brian Pinkney.

Two King Author Honor Books were selected. They are "Each Kindness" by Jacqueline Woodson and illustrated by E.B. Lewis; and "No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem Bookseller" by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson and illustrated by R. Gregory Christie.

The Coretta Scott King [Illustrator] Book Award went to "I, Too, Am America," illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Langston Hughes.

Three King Illustrator Honor Books were selected. They were "H.O.R.S.E." illustrated and written by Christopher Myers; "Ellen's Broom" illustrated by Daniel Minter and written by Kelly Starling Lyons; and "I Have a Dream: Martin Luther King Jr." illustrated by Kadir Nelson and written by Martin Luther King Jr.

Reality TV World is now available on the all-new Google News app and website. Click here to visit our Google News page, and then click FOLLOW to add us as a news source!
The Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults was presented to "In Darkness" written by Nick Lake.

Four Printz Honor Books also were named. They were "Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe" by Benjamin Alire Saenz; "Code Name Verity" by Elizabeth Wein; "Dodger" by Terry Pratchett; and "The White Bicycle" by Beverley Brenna.