ABC said Tuesday it has ordered a second season of Kiefer Sutherland's political thriller "Designated Survivor" to air in the 2017-18 television year.

Sutherland plays Tom Kirkman, a low-level Cabinet member suddenly appointed president of the United States after an attack on the U.S. Capitol during the State of the Union kills most members of the government.

Season 1 -- in which Kirkman learns to lead while also trying to figure out who was behind the atrocity -- is to wrap up Wednesday.

The cast also includes Natascha McElhone, Adan Canto, Italia Ricci, LaMonica Garrett, Kal Penn and Maggie Q.

Hannah's time is quickly running out. #DesignatedSurvivor Designated Survivor (@ABCDesignated) May 15, 2017