Former American Idol finalists Carrie Underwood and Chris Daughtry didn't achieve perfection as they did in 2007, but they both still came away as winners at last night's 2008 American Music Awards ceremony -- as did sixth-season Idol champion Jordin Sparks.

After going 3-3 in 2007, Daughtry's band Daughtry only won one of the two awards they were nominated for in 2008. The band took home Favorite Band Duo or Group, Pop or Rock Music, beating out fellow nominees Coldplay and Eagles. 

"I don't want to forget anybody. I want to first of all thank our wives who are back home tonight -- Deanna for taking care of real life back at home for us while we can live our dream -- and our management Simon Fuller and everybody at 19 [Entertainment] and everybody at CAA," Daughtry said in his acceptance speech after receiving the award, which was presented by fellow rockers Motley Crue.

"We're just very grateful to our fans who allow us to live our dreams every day of our lives and ah, these guys right here – who I wouldn't be anything without them," Daughtry continued as he motioned to his bandmates onstage with him.

Unlike Daughtry's win, Underwood and Sparks' victories weren't presented during the AMA's live broadcast on ABC.

Daughtry lost the second award it was nominated for to Sparks, who beat Daughtry as well as Eagles for the Favorite Adult Contemporary Artist.

Like Daughtry, Underwood wasn't able to replicate her 3-3 night in 2007 and only won one of the two awards she had been nominated for. She took home Favorite Country Music Album for "Carnival Ride," which debuted at No. 1 in October 2007 and has sold more than 2.3 million copies since. It beat out Garth Brooks "The Ultimate Hits" and Rascal Flatts "Still Feels Good." Underwood won the same award in 2007 for her debut album "Some Hearts."

However, Underwood failed to repeat as Favorite Country Female Artist, losing along with Reba McEntire to Taylor Swift. Ironically, Swift had lost to Underwood in the same category last year.

Several current and former reality stars also served as presenters for the 2008 AMA ceremony, including Daughtry, Sparks, Paris Hilton's My New BFF star Paris Hilton, seventh-season American Idol finalists David Cook and David Archuleta, seventh-season  Dancing with the Stars particpant Lance Bass, Nashville Star host Billy Ray Cyrus, former Newlyweds: Nick & Jessica star Nick Lachey, and Dancing with the Stars dancing professional Julianne Hough. In addition, former British Pop Idol champion Leona Lewis and Pussycat Dolls Present stars the Pussycat Dolls also performed during the ceremony.

Similar to last year's AMA awards, the AMA's 2008 winners were determined by online voting conducted via ABC's website, where fan votes were collected from October 14 through November 7.

(Photo credit ABC/Craig Sjodin)