Reality TV World Show Updates   People News   Spoiler News   Entertainment News   RealityTVDB   POP Hollywood   Reality TV News Wire
Features & Interviews   Sexy Social Pics of the Day   Things to Know Profiles   Message Boards   Shows Listing

HOME > American Idol > American Idol 4

Underwood, Pickler, Lambert, Clarkson land 2007 CMA nominations

By Christopher Rocchio, 08/30/2007 

Female former reality TV contestants will be well represented at the 2007 County Music Association Awards, as Carrie Underwood, Kellie Pickler, Kelly Clarkson and Miranda Lambert all received nominations when they were announced on Thursday.

Underwood was nominated for three CMA Awards for Female Vocalist of the Year as well as Single of the Year and Music Video of the Year for "Before He Cheats."  In addition, "Before He Cheats" was also nominated for Song of the Year, however those honors go to its songwriter and publisher and not American Idol's fourth-season champ.

This is the second year in a row Underwood has received multiple CMA nominations.  Last year, "Jesus Take the Wheel" was nominated for Music Video of the Year and Single of the Year but failed to win either award.  However, Underwood did take home Female Vocalist of the Year honors as well as the Horizon Award, which is given to up-and-coming country stars. 

Kellie Pickler will now have a chance to be the second former Idol finalist in a row to win the Horizon Award, as the fifth-season fifth-place finisher was nominated for it this year.

In this year's CMA Female Vocalist of the Year category, Underwood will be facing first season Nashville Star third-place finisher Miranda Lambert.  The two are familiar CMA foes, as Underwood bested Lambert for last year's Horizon Award.

Clarkson, America's original Idol champion, was also nominated for a 2007 CMA.  Her duet of "Because of You" with friend Reba McIntyre was nominated for Musical Event of the Year.

Nominees for the 41st annual CMA Awards were announced on ABC's Good Morning America by former Dancing with the Stars' third-season celebrity participant Sara Evans as well as Kristian Bush and Sugarland member Jennifer Nettles.  The 41st annual CMA Awards will be broadcast live from Nashville's Sommet Center on Wednesday, November 7 at 8PM ET (PT tape-delayed) on ABC.

Get more Reality TV World! Follow us on Twitter, like us on Facebook or add our RSS feed.


Take Our User Survey

Page generated Sun Apr 22, 2018 18:19 pm in 0.73068785667419 seconds

About Reality TV World   •   Advertise on Reality TV World  •   Contact Reality TV World  •   Privacy Policy   •   RSS Feed