Reality TV World Show Updates   People News   Spoiler News   Entertainment News   RealityTVDB   POP Hollywood   Reality TV News Wire
Features & Interviews   Sexy Social Pics of the Day   Things to Know Profiles   Message Boards   Shows Listing


'Stranger Things' wins SAG Award; David Harbour gives barnstormer of a speech, Winona Ryder makes fa

UPI News Service, 01/29/2017 

The cast of Netflix's sci-fi drama Stranger Things won the Screen Actors Guild Award for Best Ensemble in a TV Drama in Los Angeles Sunday night.

The show features Winona Ryder, Matthew Modine, David Harbour, Finn Wolfhard, Millie Bobby Brown, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin, Natalia Dyer, Charlie Heaton and Cara Buono.

Harbour gave an impassioned speech on behalf of his enthusiastic co-stars, who took the stage together to collect their statuettes.

"In light of all that's going on in the world today, it's difficult to celebrate the already celebrated Stranger Things.Great acting can change the world. We call to arms our fellow craftsmen and women to go deeper and through our hearts battleagainst fear, self-centeredness, exclusivity of our predominantly narcissistic culture.And through our craft cultivate an empathetic and more understanding society by revealing intimate truths that serve as a forceful reminder to folks that when they feel broken and afraid and tired they are not alone.We are united in that we are all human beings and we are all together on this horrible painful, joyous excitingand mysteriousride that is being alive," he said as the crowd gave him a standing ovation.

"As we act in the continuing narrative of Stranger Things, we 1983 midwesterners will repel bullies, we will shelter freaks and outcasts, those who have no homes. We will get past the lies, we will hunt monsters, and when we are lost amidst the hypocrisy and the casual violence of certain individuals and institutions, we will, as per chief Jim Hopper, punch some people in the face, when they seek to destroy the meek, and the disenfranchised, and the marginalized, and we will do it all with soul, with heart and with joy."

After the ceremony, SAG tweeted, "Winona Ryder's facial expressions are priceless," along with a laughing emoji, in reference to the apparent range of emotions the actress experienced while Harbour was speaking.

Netflix's The Crown cast-mates Claire Foy and John Lithgow were named Best Actress and Actor in a Drama.

Orange is the New Black won for Best Ensemble in a TV Comedy, while Veep standout Julia Louis-Dreyfus earned the accolade for Best Actress in a TV Comedy and Shameless lead William H. Macy took home the trophy for Best Actor in a TV Comedy.

Get more Reality TV World! Follow us on Twitter, like us on Facebook or add our RSS feed.

Copyright 2017 United Press International, Inc. (UPI). Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.


Take Our User Survey

Page generated Sat Feb 17, 2018 14:55 pm in 3.2171959877014 seconds

About Reality TV World   •   Advertise on Reality TV World  •   Contact Reality TV World  •   Privacy Policy   •   RSS Feed